top of page

TODAY IN FRATERNAL HISTORY: Alpha Rho Chapter's 96th Charter Day -- January 5 2020

Today, Sunday, January 5, 2020, marks the 96th anniversary of the establishment of the 38th House of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. on the campus of Moregouse College in Atlanta Georgia.

The rich history of the Alpha Rho Chapter is one steeped in a long-standing tradition of excellence in leadership, scholarship and service. The deep roots of Alpha Rho lie intertwined with that of the distinguished and visionary men of the Eta Lambda chapter. There have been 124 initiation periods since Alpha Rho Chapter was chartered on Saturday, January 5, 1924 on the historic campus of Morehouse College in Atlanta, Georgia.

Established May 20, 1920, Eta Lambda was organized to serve the fraternal needs of both undergraduate and graduate brothers at Atlanta University and Morehouse College. Brother Roderick Harris and three of his fellow Morehouse juniors - Charles W. Greene, William E. Anderson, and W.G. Dixon - became four of the twenty-one charter members of Eta Lambda chapter. These four men in turn would introduce Greek life to Morehouse College. Yet, it was not until four years later that Morehouse would have its own chapter.

During the early late 20s and early 30s, Alpha men such as Burrell Brown, Hugh M. Gloster, T.M. Alexan